Photo Source: Nicole Kidman and Elle Fanning on the “How To Talk To Girls At Parties” premiere: magicinfoto /

The 70th anniversary Cannes Film Festival capped off weeks of seaside premieres—and controversy—May 28 with its prestigious award ceremony. Bringing collectively the movie business’s “crème de la crème,” Pedro Almodóvar and his jury made this yr’s celebration considerably unconventional, awarding a tie for finest screenplay and an unprecedented particular 70th anniversary award for Nicole Kidman, who appeared in an unmatched 4 initiatives within the 2017 competition.

Sofia Coppola made a triumphant return to the competition after famously being booed for 2006’s “Marie Antoinette,” taking house finest director for her adaptation of Thomas Cullinan’s novel “The Beguiled.” Coppola is simply the second feminine in historical past to win the award (the primary being Yuliya Solntseva in 1961 for her movie “The Chronicle of Flaming Years”). The critically lauded movie, set to be launched June 30 from Focus Features, stars competition darling Kidman, plus Kirsten Dunst, Elle Fanning, and Colin Farrell.

The coveted Palme d’Or, offered by Juliette Binoche and Almodóvar, was awarded to Swedish director Ruben Östlund for his movie “The Square.” Considered by some to be an uncommon alternative, “The Square” stars Dominic West and Elisabeth Moss, and makes use of the artwork world as an allegory for middle-class guilt and incorporates points of each conceptual and efficiency artwork.

This yr’s jury, led by Almodóvar, included actors Jessica Chastain, Fan Bingbing, and Will Smith; administrators Maren Ade and Paolo Sorrentino; and French composer Gabriel Yared. Through the star-studded 12 days, questions of variety plagued the competition, with Chastain commenting on the low variety of feminine filmmakers and Smith on the dearth of African-American illustration general.

Other buzzed-about movies embody Yorgos Lanthimos’ drama “The Killing of Sacred Deer” (awarded finest screenplay), starring Farrell and Kidman; and Andrey Zvyagintsev’s “Loveless,” winner of the Jury Prize; Noah Baumbach’s “The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected),” starring Dustin Hoffman, Emma Thompson, and Ben Stiller. Since the announcement of its lineup, this yr’s competition sparked debate over the inclusion of initiatives from streaming companies corresponding to Netflix. Tilda Swinton and her director Bong Joon-ho of “Okja,” scheduled to be launched by the platform June 28, joined the refrain of voices praising Netflix for its accessibility.

“I personally don’t understand the Palme d’Or [should be] given to a movie that’s then not seen on the large display screen,” Almodóvar stated earlier within the fest. “All this doesn’t imply that I’m not open or [don’t] rejoice new applied sciences and alternatives, however [as long as] I’m alive I’ll be combating for the capability of hypnosis of the big display screen for the viewer.”

The Grand Prix prize went to the a lot talked-about “120 BPM (Beats Per Minute)”, director Robin Campillo’s heart-wrenching drama concerning the 1990s struggle on AIDS and the French homosexual rights motion. Other huge winners embody Diane Kruger in “Aus Dem Nichts (In the Fade)” and Joaquin Phoenix in “You Were Never Really Here,” taking Best Actress and Best Actor, respectively.

Check out the complete listing of Cannes winners right here!

Ready to star in an award-winning film? Check out Backstage’s movie audition listings!

Östlund, Coppola, Kidman Win at 70th Anniversary Cannes Film Festival by: Steve Melvin published:


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're always around to assist you. Kindly send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 Greezoo

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Send this to a friend

Skip to toolbar